NZ’s fastest F5000 cars will compete for the coveted historic GP title in Taupo on Sunday

scoop image


In its heyday in the 1970s, the 5.0-litre stock block V8-powered Formula 5000 single-seater racing cars that competed in the annual SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival series in New Zealand were as fast as Formula 1 cars.

As such, most of the large crowds expected to descend on the Tony Quinn-owned Taupo International Motorsports Park circuit this weekend for the Taupo Historic Grand Prix Classic Motor Racing Meeting. will know exactly what to expect, says NZ F5000 Association Organizing Committee member Glenn Richards.

“Speed, color, excitement and action…and of course the unforgettable” Rolling Thunder as 14 (final count) incredible cars accelerate from a rolling start and down the hill to the first cars “Sound corner all together.

Three years ago at the historic GP meeting held on the 3.4km full international circuit, British visiting driver Michael Lyons (Lola T400) took pole position with a glorious time of 1:24.179, marking the start of a new category. I have set 1:1 which is a lap record. 25.301 – At the first race of the weekend.

Impressive times under 1:30.000 for a 40+ year old racing car on the tight and technical 14-corner International Circuit at Taupo International Motorsports Park. Over the past three years – F5000s have been the fastest cars in the conference.

Even if you can afford it.

Despite the ongoing COVID-19 coronavirus situation, the usual UK and Australian based competitors in the SAS Autoparts MSC series are close to home again this season, but not for their 20th anniversary on 2022/23. The second of five rounds in the series attracted a strong team of 14 men. entry.

Current F5000 class form man Kevin Ingram (Lola T332) remains popular, but Oakland natives Grant Martin (Talon MR1/A) and Glenn Richards (Lola T400) and father/son duo Expect a strong challenge from a certain David (Talon MR1). ) and her Codie (Lola T332) Banks.

Also returning for action in the SAS Autoparts MSC Series are fellow Lola T332 owner/drivers Russell Greer of Blenheim (ex Graham Lawrence/Murray Sinclair HU28 Lola T332) and Tony Galbraith of Hampton Downs (ex Tuck Thomas/Ian Clements/Sefton Gibb HU38A). Lola T332), former SAS Autoparts MSC series title holder and Rotorua Lola T330 stalwart Brett Willis is behind the wheel of the new Lola T332 that debuted during the 2020/21 season and is a former muscle car ace. Bruce Ketto of Kaukapakapa, an ex-Frank Aciero/Vern Schuppan Jorgensen Steel HU46 Lola T332 he recently purchased from its first local owner, Ian Riley.

Joining the grid this weekend are Shane Windelburn, ex-Richard Scott/Bob Evans Lola T400 HU8 from Oakland, Fielding’s Tim Rush (1972 McLaren M22 M22-3-72) and expat Britt Alastair Chalmers. He moved to New Zealand in his 2015 purchase of his former Karl Zoes Chevron B32 Formula 5000 single seater.

Class A (for older cars) starring Tony Roberts (ex-Bob Essex/Sam Posey ‘High Wing’ McLaren M10A 300-09) [A]), and Toby Annabelle (ex-David Goode McLaren M10B 400-7) is also back and wants to fight again.

The event not only races Formula 5000, but also new and old Formula Open, Formula Junior and Historic Formula Ford single-seater races, as well as historic and current heritage touring car races from 60 to 70 years old. There will be an exhibition of Jaguar models. new zealand.

The SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series is organized and operated with the support of sponsors SAS Autoparts, MSC, NZ Express Transport, Bonney’s Specialized Bulk Transport, Mobil Lubricants, Pacifica, Avon Tires, Webdesign and Exide Batteries. increase.

© Scoop Media


Source link

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    128365984 mediaitem128365982

    Frimley Park NHS: Girl secures £39m after hospital meningitis error

    115651733 breaking large promo nc

    Rishi Sunak fined for not wearing seatbelt